Open new site version
What we do
Премия рунета 2017

More details on the ecoregion

The Amur Ecoregion includes territory of five constituent entities of the Russian Federation: the Jewish Autonomous and Amur Regions, the Transbaikal, Khabarovsk and Primorye Krai. The total area of the ecoregion is 1.78 million km2. If you move it to the European part of our country, it will cover the space from Sochi to Petrozavodsk!

This territory belongs to the basin of river Amur, one of the ten largest rivers in the world. This is the only (except for the Caucasus) region of Russia, which was hardly touched during the last glaciation, which contributed to the preservation of rich flora and fauna diversity. Due to this, ancient relic plants grow here to this day. The fact that an intensive development of this territory began only 150 years ago has contributed to the preservation of such rare species as the Amur tiger, Far Eastern leopard, the Japanese crane, Oriental stork, and huge stands of untouched forests.

With the support and direct participation of WWF in the Amur ecoregion during 20 years there have been created: six national parks, two reserves (three reserves have been broadened), two federal sanctuaries, four ecological corridors, two wetland complexes, two natural parks, and 29 regional wildlife sanctuaries with an area of 7 million 214 thousand hectares.