We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions
Премия рунета 2017

More about the ecoregion

Kamchatka and the adjacent water area of the Okhotsk and Bering Seas are perhaps one of the last places on the planet, where wild nature is still preserved in its pristine beauty and attractiveness. According to estimates of specialists, only in the southern part of the peninsula there are about 70 natural monuments: geological, hydrological, botanical, zoological and natural complexes. Approximately another two dozens of unique natural objects are still waiting to be included in this list.

More than 140 thousand large and small rivers with a total length of more than 350 thousand km run across the peninsula. There are more than 112 thousand lakes. Together this represents the world’s largest system of salmon spawning grounds.

© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia
© WWF Russia

According to the World Wildlife Fund’s definition the ecoregion includes: the Kamchatka peninsula, Chukotka, the coast of Alaska, the Aleutian and Commander Islands and the entire Bering Sea.

The waters of the Bering Sea, the long coastlines and unique terrestrial ecosystems of such a vast region support many fish, marine and terrestrial birds, wild reindeers, snow sheeps, white and brown bears, as well as whales, Steller sea lions and many other animals.

The regional branch of the fund is located in Kamchatka, and in fact its current activities are focused on the implementation of projects on the territory of the peninsula, as well as in the adjacent waters of the Okhotsk and Bering seas: salmon feeding territories, Kamchatka crab habitats, areas of the West Kamchatka and West Bering Sea shelves.

Ecosystems of the Kamchatka/Bering Sea region are threatened due to poaching, irrational use of commercial species of animals and global climate change. Irresponsible approach to the use of natural resources can lead to a complete disappearance of many representatives of flora and fauna. Today, the unique nature of Kamchatka is potentially threatened by numerous projects of mining companies, as well as the potential development of oil and gas fields on the West Kamchatka and West Bering Sea shelves, the construction of hydroelectric power stations in Pacific salmon’s spawning grounds, poaching of particularly valuable wildlife species, among which are reindeer, snow sheep, gyrfalcon, and peregrine falcon in addition to the already mentioned bears and salmon.

The unique biodiversity of the ecoregion is a valuable global asset, which can only be preserved by joint efforts of different countries. Therefore, WWF specialists have been implementing environmental projects in the region since 1994 with the participation of regional environmental organizations, local authorities and public.

Открыть новую версию сайта
Витрина подарков Помочь
Наша работа
Устойчивое лесопользование
Образовательная деятельность
Зеленая экономика
Редкие виды
Регионы
ВЫ МОЖЕТЕ ПОМОЧЬ ПРЯМО СЕЙЧАС!
Премия рунета 2017
Премия рунета 2017

Подробнее об экорегионе

Камчатка и прилегающая акватория Охотского и Берингова морей — пожалуй, одно из последних мест на планете, где еще сохранилась действительно дикая природа в своей первозданной красоте и притягательности. Только в южной части полуострова, по подсчетам специалистов, располагается около 70 памятников природы: геологических, гидрологических, ботанических, зоологических и комплексных. Еще порядка двух десятков уникальных природных объектов пока ожидают своего включения в этот список.

На территории полуострова протекает более 140 тыс. больших и малых рек общей протяженностью более 350 тыс. км. Здесь располагаются более 112 тыс. озер. Все это вместе представляет собой самую крупную в мире систему лососевых нерестилищ.

© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России
© WWF России

По определению Всемирного фонда дикой природы, экорегион включает в себя полуостров Камчатка, Чукотку, побережье Аляски, Алеутские и Командорские острова и всю акваторию Берингова моря.

Воды Берингова моря, длинные прибрежные полосы и уникальные наземные экосистемы столь обширного региона поддерживают жизнь множества рыб, морских и сухопутных птиц, диких северных оленей, снежных баранов, белых и бурых медведей, а также китов, сивучей и многих других представителей животного мира.

Региональное отделение фонда располагается на Камчатке, и фактически в настоящее время его деятельность ориентирована на реализацию проектов на территории полуострова, а также на прилегающей акватории Охотского и Берингова морей: районах нагула лососей, местах обитания камчатского краба, районах Западно-Камчатского и Западно-Беринговоморского шельфов.

Экосистемам Камчатского/Берингийского региона угрожает браконьерство, нерациональное использование промысловых видов животных и глобальное изменение климата. Безответственный подход к использованию природных ресурсов может привести к полному исчезновению многих представителей флоры и фауны. Потенциально опасными на сегодняшний день для уникальной природы Камчатки являются многие проекты горнодобывающих компаний, а также перспективы разработки газовых и нефтяных месторождений в районе Западно-Камчатского и Западно-Беринговоморского шельфов, строительство гидроэлектростанций в местах нереста тихоокеанских лососей, браконьерский промысел особо ценных представителей животного мира, среди которых, помимо уже упомянутых медведей и лососей, — северные олени, снежные бараны, кречеты, сапсаны.

Уникальное биоразнообразие экорегиона — ценнейшее мировое достояние, сохранить которое можно только совместными усилиями разных стран. Поэтому с 1994 года специалисты WWF реализуют в регионе природоохранные проекты, в которых участвуют региональные экологические организации, местные власти и население.


#ДажеЛайкПомогает

Помогают не только деньги. Подписывайтесь на нас в социальных сетях, участвуйте в дискуссиях, делитесь с друзьями новостями о деятельности фонда.