We want the WWF site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept
What we do
Regions
Премия рунета 2017

LET'S SAVE BOXWOOD TOGETHER!

WHAT'S THE PROBLEM?

Buxus colchica is a tree species listed in the Red Data Book of the Russian Federation. It naturally grows in the Caucasus only. In the past, the Buxus colchica forests were logged for exceptionally hard ivory-like timber. Today Buxus colchica is endangered species because of box tree moth invasion. The pest was introduced into Russia with the planting stock of another boxwood species delivered for gardening of Sochi during the preparation for the Olympic Games.

99% of natural Buxus Colchica forests have already been degraded.

The Buxus colchica is not just another evergreen tree. It is a genuine treasure of the planet's natural history and its biodiversity. The Buxus colchica survived during the Ice Age and has scarcely changed in the last 20 million years. To conserve this species today means to let our children see the Earth as it used to be long before we were born. There is a saying in the Abkhasia: "Even the Buxus colchica tree can't remember". It is used to describe some events that have happened long ago.

Experts consider about 99% of natural Buxus colchica habitats have already been destroyed, including the ones in the territory of the Western Caucasus UNESCO World Heritage Site. A unique landmark – Taxus baccata and Buxus colchica grove in Sochi – is lost forever. The chance to find viable seeds for Buxus colchica restoration is dwindling each year. However, it is not late to save the species yet.

Left side of the photos below: Buxus colchica grove before box tree moth invasion.
Right side of the photos below: Buxus colchica grove after box tree moth invasion.

WHAT WE DO?
In 2015-2017 with the support of the "WWF-IKEA Partnership on Forests" we mapped HCV forest sites with the original Buxus colchica habitats in the Krasnodar Region and the Republic of Adygea. Research data is essential for green cuttings and viable seeds collecting, we'll also use it when the plant is restored back into wilderness.
We're establishing a mother plantation of the Buxus colchica on the premises of the Apsheronsk Forestry Technical College in the Krasnodar region. We have already built a special greenhouse to protect the young seedlings against the repeat attacks of the box tree moth. The greenhouse maintains a perfect microclimatic environment for Buxus colchica to grow.
We collect seeds and young Buxus colchica trees, which have survived and demonstrated individual resistance to the box tree moth, and replant them into the greenhouse. Thus we’ll get maximum possible number of plants for further species restoration.
We plan to restore the natural Buxus Colchica forests in the ecoregion. 
Buxus colchica greenhouse opening ceremony in 2018

For additional information: 

Elena Cherkasova, project coordinator 

Learn more about the project watching our movie:

WWF-Russia presents movie about Buxus colchica conservation which is available with English subtitles. Please click on Settings button in the lower right corner of the video to choose English subtitles:

Мы хотим, чтобы сайт WWF был для вас удобным и интересным. Чтобы стать лучше, мы работаем с веб-аналитикой. Для сбора аналитических данных используются файлы cookie. Вся информация полностью конфиденциальна и никогда не передается третьим лицам. Подтвердите ваше согласие с политикой в отношении cookie или узнайте о технологии подробнее.
Я принимаю
Помочь
Наша работа
Устойчивое лесопользование
Образовательная деятельность
Регионы
ВЫ МОЖЕТЕ ПОМОЧЬ ПРЯМО СЕЙЧАС!
Премия рунета 2017
Главная / Наша работа / Устойчивое лесопользование /
Основные проекты
 /
Сохраним самшит вместе!
Образовательная деятельность
Премия рунета 2017

Сохраним самшит вместе!

В чем проблема?

Самшит колхидский – вид, занесенный в Красную книгу Российской Федерации. Он растет только на Кавказе. Раньше самшит вырубался из-за своей исключительно твердой древесины, сопоставимой со слоновой костью. А сейчас он находится под угрозой полного исчезновения из-за нашествия бабочки – самшитовой огнёвки. Этого вредителя завезли в Россию на посадочном материале самшита другого вида для озеленения городов, когда готовились к Олимпийским играм в Сочи.

99% природных самшитников уничтожены

Самшит – не просто вечнозеленое растение. Это настоящее достояние естественной истории планеты. Самшит пережил ледниковый период и сохранился до наших времен таким, каким он был около 20 млн. лет назад. Сохранить его сегодня – значит дать возможность нашим детям представить какой была Земля задолго до нас. В Абхазии в ходу фразеологический оборот «даже самшит не помнит». Так говорят о событиях, которые произошли очень давно.

Эксперты говорят, что на сегодняшний день около 99% природных самшитников уничтожены, в том числе и на территории объекта Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО «Западный Кавказ». Полностью погиб уникальный памятник природы – Тисо-самшитовая роща в Сочи. Шансы на сохранение семян, пригодных для восстановления самшита, с каждым годом становятся меньше. Тем не менее восстановление вида ещё возможно.

Что делаем?
map_icon В 2015-2017 гг. при поддержке проекта «Партнерство WWF-IKEA по лесам» мы создали карту исконных местообитаний самшита колхидского в Краснодарском крае и Республике Адыгея. Эти данные необходимы для сбора семян и уцелевших растений, они также помогут нам подобрать участки, на которых мы будем восстанавливать самшитовые леса.
Создаем на территории лесного питомника Апшеронского лесхоз-техникума (Краснодарский край) маточную плантацию самшита колхидского. Для этого была специально оборудована теплица, которая полностью защитит молодые растения от повторного объедания гусеницей. В теплице созданы все необходимые микроклиматические условия для выращивания растений.
Собираем уцелевшие молодые растения и семена самшита колхидского, которые показали индивидуальную устойчивость к вредителю, и пересаживаем их в теплицу. Это позволяет получить большее количество растений для размножения.
Планируем мероприятия по восстановлению самшита колхидского в природе экорегиона. 
Открытие самшитового питомника в 2018 году

Дополнительная информация: 

Елена Черкасова, координатор проекта

Узнайте больше о проекте из нашего фильма :